You are here:  Home  >  Complete Editions  >  Current Article

Pietro Antonio Locatelli. Sonata à Violino Solo da Camera

    Print       Email

Critical Edition by Fulvia Morabito – Massimiliano Sala, Bologna, Ut Orpheus Edizioni, 2016 (LOC 1), ISMN 979-0-2153-2451-0.

The xiiSonate à Flauto Traversiere solo è BassoOp. 2 by Pietro Antonio Locatelli were published in Amsterdam in 1732, by the author, as the first chamber-music opus number by the composer. The dedicate and patron of the collection was Nicolaas Romswinkel (1707-1755), descended from a wealthy family of German merchants, but living in Amsterdam.

Op. 2 was a success. The first print-run, sold out in five years, was followed by two revised and corrected editions dating back to 1737 and c1752, both published in Amsterdam, always at the author’s expense. In addition to the authorized prints, Op. 2 was disseminated through many unauthorized sources, both printed and handwritten.




Go to the Publisher


You might also like...

Boccherini, Luigi. 9 Quintets for guitar, 2 violins, viola and violoncello (G 445-450, 451, 453) [Opera Omnia – Vol. XXII]

Read More →
Due to Covid-19 Pandemic all the 2020 Conferences will be held in a virtually modeRead More
+ +