You are here:  Home  >  Boccherini  >  Current Article

Boccherini, Luigi. 9 Quintets for guitar, 2 violins, viola and violoncello (G 445-450, 451, 453) [Opera Omnia – Vol. XXII]

    Print       Email

edited by Fulvia Morabito and Andrea Schiavina, Bologna, Ut Orpheus Edizioni, 2019 [Opera Omnia – Vol. XXII], ISMN: 979-0-2153-2538-8, ISBN: 978-88-8109-509-4, BCE 8.

Of the 16 Quintets for guitar and string quartet composed by Luigi Boccherini only 9 survived: nn. 1-7 G445-451, 9 G 453 and12 Variazioni sulla Ritirata of Madrid Gdeest. Partly composed ex novo and partly arranged on the basis of pieces already written, these Quintets were conceived from 1796 to 1798 ca. and dedicated to the amateur guitarist Francisco Borja de Riquer y de Ros, marquis of Benavent, patron of Boccherini, in Madrid, from 1796.

The exegetical work carried out for the preparation of the critical edition allowed to rewrite the genesis and the history of the tradition of Boccherini’s guitar Quintets, restoring a text as close as possible to the last will of the author.

This is particularly true for the Quintets 7, 9 and for the 12 Variations, hitherto known only through editions at times strongly interpolated by the editors and here reconstructed on the basis of a manuscript found in Munich in 2010.




  • New Masterclass

    New Masterclass

You might also like...

Boccherini, Luigi. Sinfonie concertanti – Symphonies concertantes (G 491, 523) [Opera Omnia – Vol. XIV]

Read More →
+ +