You are here:  Home  >  Clementi Complete Edition  >  Current Article

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra Op-sn 30

    Print       Email

edited by Luca Lévi Sala, Bologna, Ut Orpheus Edizioni, 2012 (Italian National Edition of Muzio Clementi’s Complete Works, II.5), ISMN: 979-0-2153-1996-7, ISBN: 978-88-8109-477-6 (CCE 2).

We are aware only of a single manuscript source of the Concerto in C, composed by Muzio Clementi. This manuscript was written by Johann Schenk and is located at the Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Vienna.

This could be dated to 1796, even if the original Concerto was composed between the years 1789 and 1790, during the period of Clementi’s performances as a solo pianist in London, at the Hannover Square Rooms, Covent Garden and the Crown and Anchor Tavern series.

It is not easy to determine how the Concerto came into the hands of Schenk and it is difficult to tell whether he copied the Concerto from the original manuscript or from a copy.

The edition of the Sonata Op. 33 no. 3, printed in London by Longman & Broderip and in Vienna by Artaria, dates from 1794. This Sonata mostly follows the keyboard part of the Concerto.


www.muzioclementi.com | www.muzioclementi.org

  • New Masterclass

    New Masterclass

You might also like...

Ad Parnassum Journal – Vol. 19 – No. 37- October 2021

Read More →
+ +